Gilbert And Sullivan, Uncategorized

A Little Princess – Thespis – Audition

It’s currently that time of year where theatres are starting to audition for their next round of productions. Which means that there are a fair few auditions happening all about the same time.

On Monday I had an audition at Playlovers for their upcoming production of “A Little Princess”. The musical is based loosely off the book by Frances Hodgson Burnett. It follows the journey of Sara Crew who is relegated to servitude at a boarding school when her father goes missing and is presumed dead.

I did audition for the role of Sara, but looking back over the character descriptions in the audition pack I probably should have auditioned for Queen Victoria! I guess I’ll find out though when they email me my results. 🙂

This Sunday I have an audition with the Gilbert and Sullivan Society for their performance of “Thespis”. “Thespis” is the first ever operetta Gilbert and Sullivan wrote, but it’s been lost. This production is based off what someone thought it might have been – using songs from other G&S operettas.
I’m looking forward to the audition.

Leave a Reply

